Skip to content

Genesis 12:1-9 (From Memory)

September 20, 2010

Thank you, colleagues from Scriptures in Use (http://www.siutraining.org/), for challenging me to accurately memorize long portions of the Bible. Here is Genesis 12:1-9, English Standard Version. Let me know how I did, typing it from memory.

Oh, how I love your law! I meditate on it all day long. Psalm 119:97

 

Genesis 12:1-9

The Lord said to Abram, “Go from your country and your kindred and your father’s house to the land that I will show you. And I will make your name great, and I will bless you, and you will become a great nation. I will bless those you bless you and him who dishonors you I will curse, and in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.”

Then Abram went as the Lord had told him, and Lot went with him. Abram was seventy-five years old when he left Haran. And Abram took Sarai his wife and Lot his brother’s son and all the possessions they had gathered and all the people they had acquired in Haran. And they set out to go to the land of Canaan.

And when the came to the land of Canaan Abram went through the land to the place of Shechem, to the oak of Moreh. At that time the Canaanites were living in the land. And the Lord appeared to Abram and said, “To your descendants I will give this land.” And Abram built an altar to the Lord who had appeared to him. And he departed for the hill country, to the east of Bethel, and pitched his tent, with Bethel on  the west and Ai on the east. And he built an altar to the Lord and called on the name of the Lord. And Abram journeyed on, still moving toward the Negeb.

 
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

