Skip to content

Where Did the All the Homeless Women and Children Go?

March 1, 2011

Some good news for African widow and orphans. Looking down onto the street below his window in Chad[1], Africa, the United Nations official was puzzled by what he did not see. “Where did all the homeless Chadian women and children go?” He called Jamal, his liaison,  in the hope of solving the mystery. “They used to sleep on the street in front of the UN office every night with their children, but we haven’t seen them in six months. Do you know what happened to them?”

QUESTION: How do you solve homelessness? 

ANSWER: Preach Jesus Christ!

Jamal laughed and took him over to the house that Brant and Melanie started for these women and children. The UN man was dumbfounded, “How did you get all these women from different tribes to live together without fighting?” he asked. “How did you get them all jobs?  How did you get all the kids in school?”  On and on went his questions. “This is the best refugee housing solution I have ever seen in all my years with the United Nations,” he concluded.

Brant writes,

“About one week later I was invited to a special meeting of Chadian tribal elders, businessmen, and politicians. I was the only foreigner, the only Christian, the only one who didn’t speak the local dialect. Jamal translated for me as one man after another stood up and talked about the problems facing the refugees. First a tribal chief, then a businessman, and finally the former prime minister stood and talked about problems, but nobody had any solutions. Then Jamal whispered to me, ‘Wait, now they’re talking about you! They are telling the story of what we did for the refugee women and children.’ And then everyone started clapping and pointing at me. I said in Arabic, ‘Don’t thank me, thank God.’  After the meeting, everyone wanted to talk to me to find out how we had been able to successfully house nearly fifty women and children, find them jobs, and get the kids in school – something the UN was unable to do with all its money and personnel. The obvious answer is that Jesus was with us, and I didn’t shy away from that fact.

“Later I was asked to come in to the Refugee Community Center, where I was presented with an official thank-you letter and, amazingly, my own ID card as an official member of the refugee community!  The community had voted unanimously to offer me, a foreigner, a Christian, membership in their world. I couldn’t have been happier. It’s so amazing to have a front row seat when God decides to do something to make the name of Jesus famous among a people where he is not yet known.”


[1] Chad is not the actual country where this story happened.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chelsy Phillips permalink
    March 5, 2011 6:44 pm

    Ps 1:3 It’s the, “whatever he does prospers” that has been hitting me recently. Especially when coupling that with living out the rest of Ps 1 and Prov 16:3. It might not be the logical or scientific or formulated approach to solving problems, but if it works, then I am going to keep doing it, and the prayers will keep doing for now until I have planted mine own feet on foreign soil.

Leave a Reply

