Skip to content

Examples of God the Father and God the Son based on God is the Gospel

July 22, 2011

Through the scriptures of the New Testament we can see why God truly is the Gospel.

As I have studied God is the Gospel by John Piper, I have been overwhelmed by the evidence in the New Testament that reinforces the idea that God the Father and God the Son are the epitome of the Gospel. I have taken the time to look up the scripture verses mentioned by Piper and have compiled a list of the many, many examples of God truly being the Gospel throughout the Word. Here is a list of the verses that Piper uses throughout his book to prove his point, that the God Himself is in fact, the Gospel.

Christ’s Understanding of Himself as God’s Son:

And behold, a voice from heaven said, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased.” Matthew 3:17, Luke 3:22

All things have been handed over to me by my Father, and no one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the Son chooses to reveal him. Matthew 11:27, Luke 10:22

He answered, “Every plant that my heavenly Father has not planted will be rooted up.” Matthew 15:13

He was still speaking when, behold, a bright cloud overshadowed them, and a voice from the cloud said, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased; listen to him.” Matthew 17:5, Mark 1:11, Mark 9:7, 2 Peter 1:17

“So also my heavenly Father will do to every one of you, if you do not forgive your brother from your heart.” Matthew 18:35

And this was why the Jews were persecuting Jesus, because he was doing these things on the Sabbath. 17But Jesus answered them, “My Father is working until now, and I am working.” 18This was why the Jews were seeking all the more to kill him, because not only was he breaking the Sabbath, but he was even calling His own Father, making himself equal with God. 19So Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, the Son can do nothing of his own accord, but only what he sees the Father doing. For whatever the Father does, that the Son does likewise. 20For the Father loves the Son and shows him all that he himself is doing. And greater works than these will he show him, so that you may marvel. 21For as the Father raises the dead and gives them life, so also the Son gives life to whom he will. 22The Father judges no one, but has given all judgment to the Son, 23that all may honor the Son, just as they honor the Father. Whoever does not honor the Son does not honor the Father who sent him. 24Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life. He does not come into judgment, but has passed from death to life. John 5:16-24

“Truly, truly, I say to you, an hour is coming, and is now here, when the dead will hear the voice of the Son of God, and those who hear will live. For as the Father has life in himself, so he has granted the Son also to have life in himself. 27And he has given him authority to execute judgment, because he is the Son of Man. 28Do not marvel at this, for an hour is coming when all who are in the tombs will hear his voice 29and come out, those who have done good to the resurrection of life, and those who have done evil to the resurrection of judgment. John 5:25-29

30 “I can do nothing on my own. As I hear, I judge, and my judgment is just, because I seek not my own will but the will of him who sent me. 31 If I alone bear witness about myself, my testimony is not deemed true. 32There is another who bears witness about me, and I know that the testimony that he bears about me is true.” John 5:30-32

36 “But the testimony that I have is greater than that of John. For the works that the Father has given me to accomplish, the very works that I am doing, bear witness about me that the Father has sent me. 37And the Father who sent me has himself borne witness about me. His voice you have never heard, his form you have never seen, 38and you do not have his word abiding in you, for you do not believe the one whom he has sent. 39You search the Scriptures because you think that in them you have eternal life; and it is they that bear witness about me, 40yet you refuse to come to me that you may have life. 41I do not receive glory from people. 42But I know that you do not have the love of God within you. 43I have come in my Father’s name, and you do not receive me. John 5:30-43

They said to him therefore, “Where is your Father?” Jesus answered, “You know neither me nor my Father. If you knew me, you would know my Father also.” John 8:19

“I speak of what I have seen with my Father, and you do what you have heard from your father.” John 8:38

“My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand.” John 10:29

“I and the Father are one.” (John 10:30).

“Do you say of him whom the Father consecrated and sent into the world, ‘You are blaspheming,’ because I said, ‘I am the Son of God‘? If I am not doing the works of my Father, then do not believe me.” John 10:36-37

But when Jesus heard it he said, “This illness does not lead to death. It is for the glory of God, so that the Son of God may be glorified through it.” John 11:4

Jesus said, “Father, glorify your name.” Then a voice came from heaven: “I have glorified it, and I will glorify it again.” John 12:38 And now, Father, glorify me in your own presence with the glory that I had with you before the world existed. John 17:5

1When Jesus had spoken these words, he lifted up his eyes to heaven, and said, “Father, the hour has come; glorify your Son that the Son may glorify you, 2since you have given him authority over all flesh, to give eternal life to all whom you have given him. 3And this is eternal life, that they know you the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you have sent. I glorified you on earth, having accomplished the work that you gave me to do. 5And now, Father, glorify me in your own presence with the glory that I had with you before the world existed.” John 17:1-5

6“I have manifested your name to the people whom you gave me out of the world. Yours they were, and you gave them to me, and they have kept your word. 7Now they know that everything that you have given me is from you. 8For I have given them the words that you gave me, and they have received them and have come to know in truth that I came from you; and they have believed that you sent me. 9I am praying for them. I am not praying for the world but for those whom you have given me, for they are yours. 10All mine are yours, and yours are mine.” John 17:6-10

The Jews answered him, “We have a law, and according to that law he ought to die because he has made himself the Son of God.” John 19:7

The Gospel writers’ understanding of Jesus as the Son of God:

And those in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.” Matthew 14:33

The beginning of the gospel of Jesus Christ, the Son of God. Mark 1:1

He had still one other, a beloved son. Finally he sent him to them, saying, ‘They will respect my son.’ Mark 12:6, Luke 20:13

And when the centurion, who stood facing him, saw that in this way he breathed his last, he said, “Truly this man was the Son of God!” Mark 15:39

And the angel answered her, “The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you; therefore the child to be born will be called holy— the Son of God.”  Luke 1:35

John said, “And I have seen and have borne witness that this is the Son of God.” John 1:34

Nathanael answered him, “Rabbi, you are the Son of God! You are the King of Israel!” John 1:49

Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe is condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only Son of God. John 3:18

She said to him, “Yes, Lord; I believe that you are the Christ, the Son of God, who is coming into the world.” John 11:27

The life was made manifest to us, and we what we have seen and heard we proclaim also to you, so that you too may have fellowship with us; and indeed our fellowship is with the Father and with his Son Jesus Christ. And we are writing these things so that our joy may be complete. 1 John 1:2-4

This is the antichrist, he who denies the Father and the Son. No one who denies the Son has the Father. Whoever confesses the Son has the Father also. If what you heard from the beginning abides in you, then you too will abide in the Son and in the Father. 1 John 2:22-24

See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are. 1 John 3:1

The reason the Son of God appeared was to destroy the works of the devil. No one born of God makes a practice of sinning, for God’s seed abides in him, and he cannot keep on sinning because he has been born of God. By this it is evident who are the children of God, and who are the children of the devil; whoever does not practice righteousness is not of god, nor is the one who does not love his brother. 1 John 3:8-10

Whoever believes in the Son of God has the testimony in himself. Whoever does not believe God has made him a liar, because he has not believed in the testimony that God has borne concerning his Son. 11And this is the testimony, that God gave us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. 12Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life.  13I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God that you may know that you have eternal life. 1 John 3:12-13

And this is His commandment, that we believe in the name of His Son, Jesus Christ and love one another, just as he has commanded us. 1 john 3:22

Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God, and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God. Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love. In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only son into the world, so that we might live through him. In this is love, not that we have loved god but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. 1 John 7-8

And we have seen and testify that the Father has sent his son to be the Savior of the World. Whoever confesses that Jesus is the Son of God, God abides in him, and he in God. So we have come to know and to believe the love that God has for us. God is love, and whoever abides in love abides in God, and God abides in him. By this is love perfected with us, so that we may have confidence for the day of judgment. 1 John 4:14-17 

By this we know that we love the children of God, when we love god and obey his commandments. For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments. And his commandments are not burdensome. And this is the victory that has overcome the world—our faith. For everyone who has been born of God overcomes the world. And who is it that overcomes the world but the one who believes that Jesus is the Son of God? 1 John 5:5

Whoever does not believe God has made him a liar, because he has not believed in the testimony that God has borne concerning his Son. And this is the testimony, that God gave us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life. I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God that you may know that you have eternal life. 1 john 5:10-13

And we know that the Son of God has come and has given us understanding, so that we may know him who is true, and we are in him who is true, in his Son Jesus Christ. He is the true God and eternal life. 1 John 5:20-21

The temptations of the devil and the Shouts of the Demon-Possessed:

And the tempter came and said to him, “If you are the Son of God, command these stones to become loaves of bread.” Matthew 4:2, Luke 4:3

“If you are the Son of God, throw yourself down, for it is written, “’He will command his angels concerning you, and “’On their hands they will bear you up, lest you strike your foot against a stone.’“ Matthew 4:6, Luke 4:9

And behold, they cried out, “What have you to do with us, O Son of God? Have you come here to torment us before the time?” Matthew 8:29

And whenever the unclean spirits saw him, they fell down before him and cried out, “You are the Son of God.” Mark 3:11

And demons also came out of many, crying, “You are the Son of God!” But he rebuked them and would not allow them to speak, because they knew that he was the Christ. Luke 4:49

Paul’s Understanding of God as the Father of Jesus Christ:

That together you may with one voice glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. Romans 15:6

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort. 2 Corinthians 1:3

The God and Father of the Lord Jesus, he who is blessed forever, knows that I am not lying. 2 Corinthians 11:31

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places. Ephesians 1:3

He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son. Colossians 1:13

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead. 1 Peter 1:3

God our Father:

Pray then like this: “Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name. Matthew 6:9

To all those in Rome who are loved by God and called to be saints: Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. Romans 1:7

Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.
1 Corinthians 1:3

Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.
2 Corinthians 1:2

Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. Galatians 1:3

Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. Ephesians 1:2

Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. Philippians 1:2

To the saints and faithful brothers in Christ at Colossae: Grace to you and peace from God our Father. Colossians 1:2

Paul, Silvanus, and Timothy, To the church of the Thessalonians in God our Father and the Lord. 2 Thessalonians 1:1

Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. 2 Thessalonians 1:2

Now may our Lord Jesus Christ himself, and God our Father, who loved us and gave us eternal comfort and good hope through grace, 2 Thessalonians 2:16.

Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. Philemon 1:3

And these interesting verses:

But Jesus remained silent. And the high priest said to him, “I adjure you by the living God, tell us if you are the Christ the Son of God.” 64Jesus said to him, “You have said so. But I tell you, from now on you will see the Son of Man seated at the right hand of Power and coming on the clouds of heaven.” Matthew 26:63-64

And saying, “You who would destroy the temple and rebuild it in three days, save yourself! If you are the Son of God, come down from the cross.” Matthew 27:14

“He saved others; he cannot save himself. He is the King of Israel; let him come down now from the cross, and we will believe in him. 43 He trusts in God; let God deliver him now, if he desires him. For he said, ‘I am the Son of God.’“ 44 And the robbers who were crucified with him also reviled him in the same way. Matthew 27:42-44

So they all said, “Are you the Son of God, then?” And he said to them, “You say that I am.” Luke 22:70

Jesus said to her, “Do not cling to me, for I have not yet ascended to the Father; but go to my brothers and say to them, ‘I am ascending to my Father and your Father, to my God and your God.’“ John 20:17

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2011 1:31 am

    Bob that is fantastic stuff and exactly the revelation that the world needs to hear! RA

Trackbacks

  1. Why God is the Gospel, Even for God. Book Review: John Piper, Part 3 « Bob Blincoe
  2. Resources for 1 John 1:2 - 4

Leave a Reply

