Skip to content

All is Right in the World: God is the Gospel Book Review- Piper, Part 4

August 3, 2011

As our shepherd, Jesus knows and loves us as the Father does for Him.

You already know God encourages us to trust Him because He is like a shepherd who takes care of His sheep (Psalm 23). Generations of believers have made their way through perils and anxieties because “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.” And the final verse of Psalm 23 helps the believer to believe in a bright future, because “surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.”

Jesus Christ had this same faith in God. Jesus said, “I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me, just as the Father knows me, and I know the Father” (John 10:14). Had Jesus simply said, “I am the good shepherd, I know my sheep” we would not have understood that Jesus is blessing us to enjoy the Psalm 23 trust and love that Jesus Christ and His Father share. It is apparent that Jesus Christ adores His father, and that the feeling is mutual. They love and trust each other. Jesus is excited to let us mortals know how glad he is to have a good and merciful, promise-keeping father. And Jesus wants us to be glad to, knowing God as a good father. “Just as I know the father, my people are going to know my father, and I can’t wait for the joy and gladness to begin and grow large.” This is what Jesus is saying.

But how is it possible for us to know God as Jesus knows God? It’s like Psalm 23. Jesus trusted God like Psalm 23 says to do, and he did it before there was a Psalm 23. When there was only God, God was the Father, the Father who loved His son with goodness and pride and praise and promises to count on. When there was only God, God was the Son, the Son who trusted His Father with all things, and who loved His father with an everlasting love. Even at Gethsemane, the Son could believe that “the steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is thy faithfulness.”

“The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him” (Lamentations 3:22-24). It was God who restored Jesus’ soul and led him in the paths of righteousness for the sake of His name. By faith in God, Jesus Christ walked through the valley of death and was able to fear no evil. By faith in God, Jesus Christ’s gladness and joy overflowed like a cup overflows. And by His faith in God, Jesus could let everyone know that goodness and mercy would follow Him all the days of his life, and He would dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Therefore, Jesus Christ believed that, for Himself, all was right with the world. This is what the Bible means when David says, “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.” All is right with the world because of “who God is.” The big idea that Jesus Christ wants us to know is that for Himself, all is right with the world because of who God is. Of course, there is a lot more to “who God is” than the leader on Sunday morning usually takes time to explain when he invites everyone to worship God “because of who God is.” The greatest thing to know about “who God is” is the trusting, loving relationship between God the Father and God the Son.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

