Skip to content

How to Start a Movement

August 8, 2011

Everything you need to know, dear readers, about starting a movement you can learn from a shirtless dancing guy. Humor with a serious point.

“A leader needs the guts to stand alone and look ridiculous.”

“Being the first follower is an underappreciated form a leadership; the first follower transforms a lone nut into a leader.”

“A movement must be public… Everyone needs to see the followers.”

“As more people jump in, it’s no longer risky …they won’t stand out, they won’t be ridiculed.”

“Remember the importance of nurturing your first few followers as equals.”

“The biggest lesson here . . . leadership is over-glorified… The best way to make a movement, if you really care, is to courageously follow and show the others how to follow.”

“When you find a lone nut doing something great, have the guts to stand up and join in.”

What do you think about the video?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Philip Ramey permalink
    August 9, 2011 3:14 am

    Now, what I’d like to see is Bob Blincoe dancing shirtless! LOL Much love from Sacramento.

  2. August 9, 2011 3:42 am

    My first reaction was that an old saying came to mind: “Monkey see, monkey do!” My childhood training was that I was specifically NOT to do something just because someone else was doing it…I was to perform and act in social settings according to the rules our family had been taught. That may explain why I am not Leader material, more the helper one. Unless the mindset of that first follower was “maybe Lone Nut needs me to help him not look so silly…”? Then Helper would fit for me? I am so appreciative of Leaders like you and Jan though, so I can come alongside in my timidity and at my level of helping…Blessings, PM

  3. Brant Baker permalink
    August 11, 2011 10:55 pm

    I am most interested in the underappreciated leadership role of being the first follower (or maybe even first followerS). As the one who is often the first nut, I am challenged to be more egalitarian and appreciative when the second nut comes along. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

