Skip to content

Steve Jobs vs. “Sugar Water”

November 9, 2011

Marquee

Steve Jobs recruited John Sculley away from Pepsi-Cola by giving Sculley the “Pepsi challenge.” In his autobiography, Sculley writes,

And then he looked up at me and just stared at me with the stare that only Steve Jobs has and he said “Do you want to sell sugar water for the rest of your life or do you want to come with me and change the world?” and I just gulped because I knew I would wonder for the rest of my life what I would have missed.

A lot of us have already stepped away from selling sugar water to people that we love. I think of Curt and Samantha, less than 30 years old, no kids; they came through Frontiers candidates school 2 years ago. Then they took a trip to a part of East Africa where it is still possible to make it one’s ambition “to preach the gospel w here Christ is not known.”

They raised their support team, sold their possessions, cried while saying goodbye to their loved ones, boarded a plane, and moved to a place in East Africa where I hear it is really hot and the latrine conditions are primitive. And they are recruiting a team. So, if John Sculley or anyone else is radical and reading this, “Do you want to sell sugar water for the rest of your life, or do you want to come with Curt and Samantha and change the world?”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

