Skip to content

How Long, O Lord, Wilt Thou Forget?

July 25, 2012
Zomba Above the Clouds

Draw nigh unto my soul, and redeem it: deliver me because of mine enemies. Psalm 69:18

How long, O Lord, wilt Thou forget?

Far from Thy face I wait and fret.

How long yet must I bear my sorrow?

My heart longs for thy mercy’s morrow.

Why am I still with foes beset?

 

Look, Lord, my God, and answer me;

Grant that my eyes Thy light may see.

Lest, when the light of life shall fail me,

When foes with joy and pride assail me,

My fall delight my enemy.

 

Thy steadfast love has been my stay;

My heart shall praise Thee night and day.

And shall rejoice in Thy salvation,

And I will praise with jubilation

Thy bounty, Lord Most High, for aye!

 

From the Genevan Psalter, 1542

translated by W. van der Kamp, 1972

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

